LARGE Valentine’s Day Decoration Idea

Design/Image/Idea copyrighted by Creative Families, LLC. All rights reserved.

I’ve been hearing from a lot of readers of my book that lighted Valentine’s Day decorations are extremely hard many times, especially large ones!  So, to help solve this problem and continue with my theme of recycling Christmas decorations, here’s another idea for you to try:

First, determine where you want to display a large lit, red Valentine’s Day heart on the exterior of your home.  Consider the windows or a large exterior wall in the front of your home.  Once you’ve decided where it will hang, pull out one strand of 100-count “RED” Christmas lights (preferably with white wire, but this is not a necessity) for each red heart you wish to create.  Determining where you will be hanging the light strand heart will also guide you as to what type of hanging tools you need to use.  As you can see in the photo below, the heart I created is on the front of a window.  Placing my light strand heart in this location also made it easy to hang.  I purchased a package of small suction cups that have hooks attached and placed them (apx. 18” apart) in a heart shape on my window panes.  Starting at the bottom (where I plugged in the light strand), I used the hooks to keep my light strand in place while creating the perfect heart shape.  So, if you have a lot of red lights, go ahead.. have some fun!  And if you take any photos of your creations when done, please share… I would love to see your creations too!

P.S.  Don’t forget to place heart pillows on any outdoor chairs you have… cute!

[Do you like this design and the other unique decoration ideas on my blog?  For more ideas like this and some heartwarming ideas for creating traditions to go with them, check out my book at www.CreativeFamilyTraditions.com]

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hirfa
    Jan 04, 2010 @ 05:12:22

    Are there any free tutoring sessions on decorating?

    Reply

  2. Hirfa
    Jan 04, 2010 @ 05:17:01

    Do you have any ideas for a 60th theme brithday party?

    Reply

Leave a comment