A Group Gift for Mother’s Day

It’s my hope that every Mom out there has a wonderful “SPECTACULAR” Mother’s Day and that your family makes you feel very special.

This Mother’s Day, some Moms will be spending their day in Women’s shelters, Red Cross shelters and inexpensive motels, alongside their families who are too stretched (financially) to even consider a small gift for their deserving Mom.  I belong to a philanthropic group who believes in doing something nice for Moms in this situation.  If you feel the same way, consider my easy and quick idea.  It’s the perfect “little something” that will brighten another Mom’s day, just by making them feel remembered.

To begin, check with your church or local shelter because you will probably find out about a group of Moms who are struggling.  If so, check inexpensive stores, like the Dollar Tree, for multi-packs of nice gifts.  I found these multi-packs of small, flower-shaped (die-cut) notepads and ink pens.  With a roll of satin ribbon, I tied a pen to each notepad and finished it off with a bow.  I’ll donate them to the local Women’s shelter to make them feel special on Mother’s Day too.  After all, I have always believed that it’s not about the cost of the gift, it’s simply about making an effort to make someone else feel special.  And in keeping with my motto of making  things  nice, on a budget, I spent less than $10 to create these small, but sweet & useful gifts.

For a “no cost” donation, gather all of your hotel (shampoo, body wash, soap, toothpaste, mouthwash, etc.) samples and drop those off so the moms can choose what they need.

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

Eileen

Leave a comment