Cure the Winter Blues with a FUN Snowflake Breakfast!

[As always, CLICK ON any photo to view it larger & in more detail]

With the holidays behind us (booooo), I tend to get a little down 😦 so I came up with a fun, new Winter tradition to pick up mine and my family’s spirits … The Snowflake Breakfast!

cuttersSTEP ONE – look for a metal, snowflake-shaped cookie cutter.  I just found a 4-pack at Wal-Mart for $2.88 that’s probably on sale now (woo-hoo!).  The reason you need a metal cutter is so it can withstand the heat of your frying pan or griddle.

STEP TWO – dust off your favorite recipe to whip up a batch of pancake batter.  Mine is chocolate chip!  🙂

STEP THREE – spray your frying pan or griddle AND the “inside” of a large snowflake cookie cutter with non-stick cooking spray.

s_snowflake cutter_sprayed

STEP FOUR – Spoon some pancake batter into the snowflake cutter, spreading it evenly into each arm of the snowflake.

s_snowflake cutter_with pancake mix

STEP FIVE – Brown the pancake on 1 side and use a spatula and the side of your pan to help you flip the pancake AND snowflake cutter (together) to begin browning the opposite side of the pancake.

s_snowflake cutter_pancake

STEP SIX – While the opposite side of the pancake is browning, use a knife to begin loosening it from the side of the snowflake cutter.

st_snowflake cutter loosen

STEP SEVEN – Gently remove the snowflake cutter, and when done, remove the pancake from the pan.

s_snowflake cutter_removed

STEP EIGHT – Make an inexpensive snowflake tree to use as a centerpiece on your Snowflake Breakfast table!  Gather branches from outside and spray paint them white.  HINT:  Leave any berries or buds on the branches for added texture and detail.  Cut a piece of styrofoam to fit in the bottom of a vase you have on hand.  Arrange the painted & now dry branches in your vase to create a winter tree, using the styrofoam to hold them in place.  Disguise the styrofoam with inexpensive Epsom Salts to simulate fresh fallen snow.

branches in salt

STEP NINE – Hang snowflakes in any windows and on the branches of your new winter tree and place in the center of your breakfast table.

DR_breakfast_closeup

STEP TEN – Years ago, I was lucky enough to find snowflake plates at J.C. Penny (on clearance.. whoo-hoo!) and snowflake glasses at Target, but you can use paper plates with a snowflake theme to duplicate this look on a budget.  I found the over-sized white snowflakes at a dollar store…. they make great place mats!  Finally, I recycled my snowflake pillows, lantern and snowflake candle (used in the family room at Christmas) to create more wintry ambiance on the  side table underneath my window of snowflakes.

s_DR_candle 2

Check out the entire Snowflake Breakfast setting… it’s festive and happy and because it’s “the unexpected”, it will provide everyone in your home with the perfect prescription for the post-holiday, winter blues!!

s_DR full_2

Enjoy the Creativity!

EILEEN

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lucyloohoo
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 02:21:38

    Yum, that looks delicious! Such a creative idea 🙂

    Reply

  2. Joanne
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 07:44:07

    What a great idea! Even here in So CA it’s be cold in the mornings so waking up to these cute and yummy pancakes would be perfect!

    I have a question for you. This weekend is my niece’s birthday. She is turning 12. Normally I throw her a big birthday party every year. I take the whole year planning it and buying stuff here and there to pull it all together. (I don’t have kids so I spoil her like my own. She doesn’t have a mommy and my nephew is so busy working all the time so it works great for everyone.)

    Well this year she said she didn’t want a party…that is, until yesterday. She now wants to take 7 of her girl friends and we are going to go camping but in a cabin. Not up in the mountains with snow. Just at a camp ground in San Diego.

    So the theme is going to be CAMPING 🙂 I just don’t know what I could do for decorations. I don’t really want to unpack all my regular camping stuff since we won’t need it but I still want to give it an outside/woodsy look.

    Any ideas on things I could make or throw together in the next few days?

    Thanks for any tips.
    Joanne

    Reply

  3. Trackback: FUN Snowflake Breakfast - Kellerman Real Estate

Leave a comment