How to make – Large, faux CHRISTMAS CANDY Decorations

Every year, pool owners purchase these inexpensive (apx. $1.00 each) 5-foot, foam “noodle” floats.  Eventually, they fade and are, many times, thrown out.   As always, I LOVE to think of ways to recycle and repurpose things (instead of adding to the landfill) and came up with a creative idea, using  retired pool noodles.  Of course, you can also buy them new (on clearance – post summer!) to make this project too.

My vision was to create several large, faux candies (for holiday decorating), mainly because they’re lightweight and won’t weigh down (tree, wreath & garland) greenery … PLUS, they’re inexpensive!

ONE

Begin by deciding approximately how long you would like to make each piece of candy (I chose 9″) and divide that number into the total length of the pool noodle to determine how many you’ll be able to cut from each one.  Mark (that individual measurement) along the length of the pool noodle (using a black marker) and then, carefully cut (using a knife) through the foam at each marking, on a safe surface.  I ended up with six (6) lengths, apx. 9″ each.

TWO

Choose a gift wrap, scrapbook or tissue paper to cover them with and cut pieces large enough to wrap each (cut) foam piece and wide enough so you have extra to fold down at each end of the foam piece (to hide the end of the foam).

To create a neat closure, fold over one end (of the length) and place one foam piece, in the center, at the other end.

Before you roll the foam piece up in the paper, add 3 pieces of double-sided tape along the length of the fold, half on the folded paper and half on the underneath (blank) side of the paper.

Now, when you roll up the foam piece, the tape will automatically secure the paper (closed).  Unless you want to, don’t worry if the pattern doesn’t match up perfectly because that will be the “back side” of your ornament.

Fold down the paper on each end and use a piece of regular scotch tape to secure it.

 

THREE

Repeat the paper cutting process (above), but this time using clear, plastic basket wrap.  This time, however, make sure the length is even longer (by 6″).

Place your gift-wrapped foam length in the center of the plastic wrap, at one end of the width.  Before you roll it up, once again, add 3 small pieces of double-sided tape on the other end (of the width) so the plastic wrap will automatically close, after rolling up the foam candy in it.  Also, try to line up the 2 closures (paper & plastic wrap) and that can be the back side of your ornament.

FOUR

Cut two (2) lengths of ribbon, using one to tie each end (of the plastic wrap) closed, displaying the bow on the front/top side of the ornament.

When you’re done, you’ll have inexpensive, lightweight Christmas candy decorations for approximately 50 cents each.  I found that mine tucked into my holiday greenery easily without the aid of a hanger.  But, if you’re using them to decorate garland, add a length of fishing line (tying it to each end, before adding your ribbon) as an ornament hanger.

I’m excited to share with you how I used mine in one of The Seasonal Home 2012 Christmas designs this year… so stay tuned… COMING SOON! 🙂

And don’t forget to consider this idea for other holidays!

ENJOY THE CREATIVITY!

Eileen

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. June
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 06:49:25

    What a wonderful idea. The cutest thing I’ve seen in a long time 🙂

    Reply

  2. Katherine
    Nov 23, 2012 @ 01:06:39

    I CANNOT wait to see your creativity for Christmas 2012! I am going to try my best to pull off your Christmas 2009 gingerbread tree; having a hard time finding peppermint swirls for the topper and popcorn/cranbury garland. My son says that I’m obsessed with your website. As much as I hate to admit it, he’s right! Love, love, LOVE your ideas! Thank you for sharing! Keep the pics coming! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

    • Katherine
      Nov 23, 2012 @ 01:32:08

      By the way, I meant cranberry, not cranbury! 🙂 I ordered your DVD and hope to learn a lot from it!

      Reply

    • seasonalhome
      Nov 23, 2012 @ 05:36:37

      That’s the nicest comment I think anyone has left me in a long time Katherine… thank you so much! 🙂 I am thrilled to know that you feel inspired by my creativity – I call that “mission accomplished”! 😀 And by the way, I found those metal peppermint swirl lollipops at Hobby Lobby… hope you find them or something similar.

      Reply

  3. Peggy Boyd
    Nov 23, 2012 @ 01:44:27

    Love ’em! Helps me with one of the trees I am putting up for work!!!!

    Reply

  4. Sherri. DeMarco
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 20:01:06

    I have pined a few thousand pins, bought and download some sites.
    I have never wanted to say to someone, how amazing and talented you are!!!
    Thank you!
    Sherri

    Reply

    • seasonalhome
      Nov 29, 2012 @ 00:48:32

      Thank you Sherri… what a wonderful compliment, which I appreciate VERY much! You made my day. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment