Creative, Re-purposed Decorations for Valentine’s Day

[As always, click on any photo to view it larger]

Call me creative or just plain lazy (LOL)….  but this year, I kept up a few of my Christmas decorations and re-purposed them, with a “Valentine” look.

Remember this pretty garlandfoyer_full_2_s

Once I removed the ribbon, “Merry Christmas” sign and the tabletop decorations, I noticed how beautiful and wintry the greenery looked, so I just added some glittered red hearts (wall hangings cut-apart from the dollar section of Target), red velvet heart picks from The Dollar Store and my “smooch” stickers (purchased a few years ago).

Total cost to take it from Christmas to Valentine’s Day: $3.00

s)foyer

And remember this tree?kitchen_tree_sjpg

I replaced the hanging ornaments (on the curtain rod) with a simple valance I sewed, using $3.00 worth of fabric from Wal-mart and added a $3.00 felt heart garland from Target to trim it out.

The tree ornaments are 3-piece, glittered Valentine wall hangings (from the dollar section of Target) that I cut apart and used alongside cardboard hearts (removed from a $4.00 Walgreen’s wreath).  I added one new thing that softened the look of the white tree and made a wonderful garland – inexpensive light pink feather boas!  For the base, I made a pink cupcake liner (from poster board) to replace the blue (Christmas) one and exchanged the glittered ornaments, tucked in the pink frosting (spray painted polyester batting) with sprinkles, which I made from leftover poster board and paper.  The Christmas tree was bright and happy, whereas the Valentine’s Day tree is soft and sweet!

s_tree

I’ll be hosting a Valentine themed meeting next month, so I test-drove the table cover, dishes and chair decorations to see how they’ll look too.  I’m loving this lush, pink color!  And by the way, the chair decorations are nothing more than another glittered “Conversation Heart” wall hanging I also found in the dollar section at Target and tied on the back of the chair with an inexpensive piece of ribbon.

s_kitchen full_w chair backs

It was fun to fill my cabinets with Valentine goodies too and I re-purposed some Christmas decorations there… can you spot them?

s_cab left  s_cab rt

Remember this cookie tree from Christmascookie tree

I covered the star (on the top) with a couple of the cardboard hearts and of course, placing it next to a couple of Valentine cupcakes creates an instant Valentine’s Day treat!

s_cookie n cupcake display

Remember this cake plate with a red bow, from Christmas? foyer_santa_s

It’s just as cute under a Department 56 Valentine house!  s_cab left_bottom

I use my apothecary jars year round, including Christmas.  I changed the candy, in several of them to Conversation Hearts (for Valentine’s Day) but kept the pastel jelly beans in one because the colors were perfect!

s_conv hrts  s_cab rt_top

Here’s an idea you might want to try – use apothecary jars as frames by adding a few Conversation Hearts and tucking your photos or vintage Valentine Cards inside.  You could display photos of you and your sweetie or your kids/grandkids.  It’s just a different way to display photos or other keepsakes without purchasing a separate & costly Valentine’s Day frame.  And hey… it makes a real conversation piece too!

s_cab rt_bottom

Stay tuned for a Shabby Chic idea for Valentine’s Day (blog post) next, coming up in a couple of days!

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!

Enjoy the Creativity…

EILEEN

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne Kennedy
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 01:52:58

    Very cute, clever and at such a great price! I never did find a white tree on sale this year after Christmas so I’ll be searching for one throughout the year and I hope I don’t end up paying an arm and a leg for it.

    I love how you just pulled a few things out and replaced them with a few other things and got a whole new look!

    That cookie tree is cute. Is it real? If not, where did you find that?

    Thanks again for sharing the great tips! Keep them coming. 🙂

    Reply

    • seasonalhome
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 02:50:30

      Thank you Joanne!:-)
      I’ve had the cookie tree for a long time and cannot remember where I got it. But, on a positive note… so many Seasonal Home fans seem to inquire about all of my cookie trees so I’m going to keep an eye out for them (in the marketplace) and will let you know when & where I find them. I hope that helps.
      Eileen

      Reply

  2. Joyce Stackpole
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 02:19:09

    Great Ideas…Thank you for sharing!!

    Reply

  3. Simmy :-)
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 03:37:46

    I have that same conversation heart wall hanging from Target. They have those still? I got mine probably 3 years ago … maybe more. Love how they look tied to the back of the chair. I am SOOOO doing that if I can find more of the hangings.

    Reply

  4. Alethia
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 14:05:12

    Last xmas I made five vases of red, blood red and orange red floral arrangements. I am repurpose the floral arrangements for valentine decorations. I had vases fill with red xmas balls, I use those vases to make a valentine candy bar station.

    Reply

Leave a comment